Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
A Suspicion of Silver
07 Mar 2019 * HARDBACK * £18.99 * 9781788549783

A brand-new Sir Robert Carey Mystery, full of roguish courtiers, rival gangs, border raiders, treason, realpolitik and unbridled ambition.

Fiction / FJH (Action & Adventure)
Extent: 320 pages  Format: 228 x 145 mm
Exclusive: GB AU NZ IN ZA SG   Not for sale: CA US
A Suspicion of SilverSir Robert Carey Mysteries, 9by P.F. Chisholm

A brand-new Sir Robert Carey mystery, perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and S.J. Parris.

Sir Robert Carey, Deputy Warden of the West March, has just foiled a double plot to assassinate King James. Now he rides for Leith hunting the would-be killer Joachim Hochstetter. Has he taken ship for the Continent, or ridden south for England and, quite literally, gone to ground?

Originally from Augsburg, Hochstetter's family runs a smelting business in Keswick amid a colony of German miners. Just how far would they go to protect one of their own?

Sir Robert's other problem? His dour, difficult Sergeant, Henry Dodd, has disappeared somewhere on the snowy moors. They found his horse... but there's no sign of the rider. Sir Robert's searches will see him sorely tested, both above and below ground, at sword's point and at fuse's end...

'Chisholm displays a masterful hand ... A resoundingly satisfying conclusion and a terrific hook. I have never loved Sir Robert more' DANA STABENOW.

P.F. Chisholm is an author and journalist. She is a graduate of Oxford University with a degree in History. Her first novel, A Shadow of Gulls, published when she was eighteen, won the David Higham Award for Best First Novel. patriciafinney.com

A brand-new Sir Robert Carey mystery.

By a bestselling author and winner of a David Higham award and Mystery Writers of America award.

MARKET: C.J. Sansom; S.J. Parris.


'A fast-moving tale of the 1500's which I thoroughly enjoyed. The description of Carey's fight against his claustrophobia is great and his fear is quite palpable ... A great read' Promoting Crime Fiction by Lizzie Hayes

'Chisholm displays a masterful hand in drawing several plot lines from the previous novels to a resoundingly satisfying conclusion, and in setting a terrific hook on the last page. Mickey Spillane, who famously said "The last line sells the next book," would have given her a standing ovation for this one. I have never loved Sir Robert more' Dana Stabenow

'Character-driven, swiftly moving, and filled with fascinating historical details about mining and the Scottish border country. Chisholm continues to impress with each new addition to a top-notch series' Kirkus Reviews

'Chisholm smoothly inserts realistic details of daily life in 16th-century Britain into this fast-moving historical. Those interested in the mining techniques of the period will be gratified' Publishers Weekly

'Fast moving and packed with little-known, but fascinating, historical detail ... Chisholm displays a masterful hand in drawing several plotlines from her previous novels to a resoundingly satisfying conclusion in a final chilling chase. This new addition to a top-notch series is one of her best – culminating with the setting of a terrific hook on the last page!' Crime Review

UK TRADE ORDERS
✆ +44 (0)1256 302 699
✉ orders@macmillan.co.uk

EXPORT ORDERS
✆ +44 (0)1256 302 890
✉ exportregion1@macmillan.com

headofzeus.com | @HoZ_Books