Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Gauntlet and the Broken Chain
03 Aug 2023 * EBOOK * £7.99 * 9781800244092

The final instalment in the fantasy trilogy featuring warrior Floré and a quest to save her abducted daughter.

Fiction / FM (Fantasy)
Extent: 464 pages
Exclusive: GB CA AU NZ IN ZA SG US
The Gauntlet and the Fist Beneath
The Gauntlet and the Burning Blade
Also in The Rotstorm series
The Gauntlet and the Broken ChainThe Rotstorm, 3by Ian Green

The thrilling final instalment in Ian Green's Sunday Times Top 15 bestselling fantasy adventure series.

Hunt the mage. Save the child. Defy the storm.

Across the ruins of Ferron, the rotstorm ever rages. From its nightmarish depths, demons and goblins and rust-folk have struck forth and claimed the Northern Marches as their sanctuary. Through the Undal Protectorate, the land is gripped in a Claw Winter, a frozen mirror of the punishment laid down to the west.

Abandoned on the island of Riven, Floré and her comrades must find their way back to the Protectorate. Floré's daughter Marta is hidden somewhere in the north, dying from the skein-magic she cannot yet control. And now, a centuries-old problem threatens to cause new problems for Floré – and it threatens to be the most challenging yet...

For, after centuries of bondage, the immortal mage Tullen One-Eye – the man they call 'Deathless' – has been unchained, and the great god-wolf Lothal hunts again. To make matters worse, deep in Orubor's Wood, the god-bear Anshuka stirs from her slumber.

The awakening of three unknown forces spells bad news for Floré and the Ferron. For, the last time the Judges warred, an empire fell.

If she is to save her daughter and free her people, Floré will have to defeat the great wolf Lothal and kill the 'Deathless' Tullen. But how can she kill the unkillable man? And will steel alone be enough to take down the gods themselves?

Praise for the Rotstorm trilogy:
'Excellent, vivid worldbuilding... A gripping story with cinematic detail.' British Fantasy Society
'Epic action, deep world-building, and colourful characters make for a magical debut, forged in compelling inspirations... There's plenty more magic to come.' The Publishing Planet

Ian Green is a writer from Northern Scotland with a PhD in epigenetics. His fiction has been widely broadcast and performed, including winning the BBC Radio 4 Opening Lines competition and winning the Futurebook Future Fiction Prize. His short fiction has been published by Londnr, Almond Press, OpenPen, Meanjin, Transportation Press, The Pigeonhole, No Alibi Press, Minor Lits, and more. @ianthegreen www.ianthegreen.com

An action-packed and unique fantasy novel perfect for fans of Brandon Sanderson's Stormlight Archive series or Sam Sykes' Seven Blades In Black.

Book one, The Gauntlet and the Fist Beneath, was a top 15 hardback bestseller.

Ian was the winner of BBC Radio 4 Opening Lines competition and the Futurebook Future Fiction prize.

MARKET: Brandon Sanderson; Sam Sykes; R.J. Barker; Tom Lloyd; Leigh Bardugo.


FOR MORE INFORMATION
✆ +44 (0) 20 7253 5557
✉ digitalsales@headofzeus.com

headofzeus.com | @HoZ_Books | An Ad Astra Book