Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
After She'd Gone
08 Jun 2023 * PAPERBACK * £9.99 * 9781801108287

A single mother is kidnapped in Oslo. A young Russian woman experiences the dark side of modelling in Italy. What is their connection? The new psychological thriller from Alex Dahl.

Fiction / FH (Thrillers)
Extent: 416 pages  Format: 198 x 129 mm
Exclusive: GB CA AU NZ IN ZA SG US
The Boy at the Door
The Heart Keeper
Playdate
Cabin Fever
Also by Alex Dahl
After She'd Goneby Alex Dahl

'An irresistible read' DAILY MAIL

Liv keeps a low profile in Sandefjord, Norway. She has never told her son about the secrets she carries or the life she lived before he was born. She will do anything to keep him safe.

Anastasia's life is transformed when she moves from Russia to Milan to work as a model. She's rich. She's desired. But there's a dark side to the high-pressure catwalk shows that she will do anything to escape.

Selma is a journalist in Oslo. She's investigating scandals in the modelling industry, but can't get her article published. Then a woman goes missing in Sandefjord. Now Selma must uncover the biggest story of her life . . .

Unsettling, gripping and glamorous, this is a timely and cathartic psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Claire Douglas, TM Logan and CL Taylor.

Why readers love Alex Dahl . . .
'Unsettling, layered, bold, unpredictable, dark' Will Dean
'Fast-paced and unsettling' Guardian
'It will leave you gasping for air' Rachael Blok
'A tense thriller that felt utterly real' Jane Shemilt
'This is in my top 5 book of the year so far' Reader review
'Kept me guessing from beginning to end' Reader review
'Alex Dahl is now one of my new auto buy authors!' Reader review
'I devoured it in two days' Reader review

Alex Dahl is a half-American, half-Norwegian author. Born in Oslo, she studied Russian and German linguistics with international studies, then went on to complete an MA in creative writing at Bath Spa University and an MSc in business management at Bath University. A committed Francophile, Alex loves to travel, and has so far lived in Moscow, Paris, Stuttgart, Sandefjord, Switzerland, Bath and London. She is the author of four other thrillers: After She'd Gone, Cabin Fever, Playdate, The Heart Keeper, and The Boy at the Door, which was shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger. Follow Alex on Twitter (@alexdahlauthor), Instagram (@authoralex) and Facebook (alexdahlauthor).

Author's debut, The Boy at the Door, was shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger.

Highly marketable author with growing profile within the crime community – 63k ebooks sales and counting.

Book inspired by author's own experiences as a young model and uncovers the dirt behind the glamour. #metoo

MARKET: Will Dean; Harriet Tyce; B.A. Paris; Caroline Kepnes.


'An irresistible read... A truly revealing book about the disgusting side of the modelling world, but [Dahl's] powerful messaging never bogs the plot down' Daily Mail

'An often accomplished [...] addition to the ranks of Scandi Crime' The Times

'An adrenaline rush of a read; fast paced, thrilling, occasionally violent and always compelling' My Weekly

'A twisty, addictive and glamorous psychological thriller. Alex Dahl is a master at portraying the clandestine, dark side of the upper class' Yrsa Sigurdardottir

UK TRADE ORDERS
✆ +44 (0)1256 302 699
✉ orders@macmillan.co.uk

EXPORT ORDERS
✆ +44 (0)1256 302 890
✉ exportregion1@macmillan.com

headofzeus.com | @HoZ_Books | An Aries Book