Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
Jason
04 Aug 2022 * HARDBACK * £20 * 9781803287188

The second novel by classicist Mark Knowles, retelling the myths of Ancient Greece. Jason and his men must navigate seas filled with enemies and overcome 'sorcery' and schemes designed to cause their downfall.

Fiction / FJH (Action & Adventure)
Extent: 496 pages  Format: 229 x 148 mm
Exclusive: GB CA AU NZ IN ZA SG US
Argo
Also in Blades of Bronze series
JasonBlades of Bronze, 2by Mark Knowles

Packed with action, adventure, and intrigue, Jason is perfect for fans of Christian Cameron and Madeline Miller.

They may have won the prize, but will any of them make it home alive?

Jason has fulfilled the mission set him by his uncle, the scheming King Pelias of Iolkos: he and the Argonauts have won the fabled Golden Fleece of Colchis. Jason dreams of glory – of taking his uncle's throne, rightfully his – and, like his warrior shipmates, of home.

But it is not only Pelias who wishes Jason ill. Before the Argonauts can make it back to Iolkos, they must contend with a legion of foes who would see them dead – and a web of allies who are not quite what they seem.

Jason and his warriors must outwit the recondite Circe and the spies of mighty Troy, overcome hostile tribes beyond the Danube, and sail the troubled waters of the Archipelagos, where the Sirens wait to snare unwary seafarers.

Yet Jason's perils are only beginning, for he will soon discover that a truer evil lies closer to home...

'A bold and thrilling voyage that plunges you deep into the world of ancient myth with every stroke of Jason's oar. Knowles's storytelling captured my imagination from the very first page. It is wonderfully atmospheric' Daisy Dunn, editor of ARGO: A Hellenic Review, and author of Of Gods and Men: 100 Stories from Ancient Greece & Rome

Reviewers on Mark Knowles:

'A deeply researched historical epic, so brilliantly brought to life I could taste the salt air on my tongue' Adam Lofthouse
'What a spectacular triumph! Knowles has taken a reassuringly familiar legend and elevated it into a new, realistic and engrossing story' Sam Taw

Mark Knowles read degrees in Classics and Management Studies at Downing College, Cambridge. After a decade working as a frontline officer and supervisor within the Metropolitan Police Service, he became Head of Classics at a school in Harrogate. He is a particular fan of experimental archaeology and rowed on the reconstructed Ancient Athenian trireme Olympias during its last sea trials in Greece in 1994. Follow Mark on @mark77knowles markknowles.info

Unique retelling of ancient Greek myths by classical scholar Mark Knowles.

Second in a series of three novels retelling the stories of the Golden Fleece, Circe, Medea, and other classic myths.

For fans of Madeline Miller and Natalie Haynes as well as wider classical era historical fiction fans.

MARKET: Madeline Miller; Christian Cameron; Simon Scarrow; Giles Kristian.


'A bold and thrilling voyage that plunges you deep into the world of ancient myth with every stroke of Jason's oar. Knowles's storytelling captured my imagination from the very first page. It is wonderfully atmospheric.' Daisy Dunn

PRAISE FOR MARK KNOWLES:
'What a spectacular triumph! Knowles has taken a reassuringly familiar legend and elevated it into a new, realistic and engrossing story. This glorious hero quest is packed with intrigue, adventure, mystery, and beautifully written skirmishes, raising the stakes higher and higher as the crew venture into darker and more treacherous lands.' Sam Taw on Argo.
'A deeply researched historical epic, so brilliantly brought to life I could taste the salt air on my tongue... Epic battles, well rounded characters sailing through a brilliantly described world.' Adam Lofthouse, author of The Centurion's Son, on Argo.
'[Knowles] has teamed his love of learning classics and childhood love of sword-and-sandals epics to accomplish something remarkable.' Boarding Schools' Association.
'Knowles has combined historical realities with sure-footed imagination... Brilliant.'
Dr Paul Millett, Cambridge University

UK TRADE ORDERS
✆ +44 (0)1256 302 699
✉ orders@macmillan.co.uk

EXPORT ORDERS
✆ +44 (0)1256 302 890
✉ exportregion1@macmillan.com

headofzeus.com | @HoZ_Books | An Aries Book