Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus

Cover Reveal Coming Soon

06 Jul 2023 * PAPERBACK * £9.99 * 9781838931377

Set in Israel across four decades, Maror is a story of life and death, politics and history.

Fiction / FA (Fiction)
Extent: 560 pages  Format: 198 x 129 mm
Exclusive: GB AU NZ IN ZA SG   Not for sale: CA US
The Best of World SF: 2
Osama
A Man Lies Dreaming
The Best of World SF
By Force Alone
The Hood
Also by Lavie Tidhar
Marorby Lavie Tidhar

'A masterpiece of the sacred and the profane... A literary triumph.' Jake Arnott, Guardian

How do you build a nation?

It takes statesmen and soldiers, farmers and factory workers, of course. But it also takes thieves, prostitutes and policemen.

Nation-building demands sacrifice. And one man knows exactly where those bodies are buried: Cohen, a man who loves his country. A reasonable man for unreasonable times.

A car bomb in the back streets of Tel Aviv. A diamond robbery in Haifa. Civil war in Lebanon. Rebel fighters in the Colombian jungle. A double murder in Los Angeles.

How do they all connect? Only Cohen knows.

Maror is the story of a war for a country's soul – a dazzling spread of narrative gunshots across four decades and three continents.

It is a true story. All of these things happened.

Praise for Maror:

'A bloody beast of a book.' Daily Mail
'This is crime writing in the tradition of Balzac and Dickens and a major achievement, full of sound, fury, drugs and blood... An earthquake of a book.' CrimeTime
'Some write in ink, others in song, Tidhar writes in fire... Maror is a kaleidoscopic masterpiece, immense in its sympathies, alarming in its irreverences and altogether exhilarating.' Junot Díaz
'One of the boldest, most visionary writers I've ever read creates both a vivid political exploration and a riveting crime epic. It's like the Jewish Godfather!' Silvia Moreno-Garcia
'Maror blends the page-turning wit of a hard-boiled detective noir with the stirring intrigue of a multi-national political epic. An ambitious achievement that weaves a tapestry of both story and statement.' Kevin Jared Hosein
'Radiant with [...] the richly nuanced complexity and style of Marlon James' A Brief History of Seven Killings ... Will catch your breath as it presents the history of Israel from unique points of view, with dazzling multi-generational scope.' LoveReading

Lavie Tidhar was born just ten miles from Armageddon and grew up on a kibbutz in northern Israel. He has since made his home in London, where he is currently a Visiting Professor and Writer in Residence at Richmond University. He won the Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize for Best British Fiction, was twice longlisted for the International Dublin Literary Award and was shortlisted for the CWA Dagger Award and the Rome Prize. He co-wrote Art and War: Poetry, Pulp and Politics in Israeli Fiction, and is a columnist for the Washington Post.

The first contemporary literary novel from the celebrated author of fantasy and science fiction.

A multi-generational saga with cultural and political depth, drawing on the rich and often troubling recent history of Israel.

MARKET: A Little Life; Pachinko; A Brief History of Seven Killings; The Luminaries.


'A sprawling epic set across four decades, and an audacious account of the underbelly of nation-building... Spectacular... Fascinating... Astonishing... Maror is a masterpiece of the sacred and the profane... Tidhar has achieved a literary triumph' Jake Arnott, Guardian

'Some write in ink, others in song, Tidhar writes in fire... Maror is a kaleidoscopic masterpiece, immense in its sympathies, alarming in its irreverences and altogether exhilarating' Junot Díaz

'Maror blends the page-turning wit of a hard-boiled detective noir with the stirring intrigue of a multi-national political epic. An ambitious achievement that weaves a tapestry of both story and statement' Kevin Jared Hosein

'Radiant with [...] the richly nuanced complexity and style of Marlon James' A Brief History of Seven Killings... Will catch your breath as it presents the history of Israel from unique points of view, with dazzling multi-generational scope' LoveReading

'One of the boldest, most visionary writers I've ever read creates both a vivid political exploration and a riveting crime epic. It's like the Jewish Godfather!' Silvia Moreno-Garcia

'Startlingly refreshing' Daily Mail

'Crime writing in the tradition of Balzac and Dickens and a major achievement... An earthquake of a book' CrimeTime

'Every few years an Israeli writer produces a blockbuster book, designed to grab readers by the ears and occasionally readjust what they know – or think they know – about the Jewish state... Magnificent' Jewish Chronicle

'Tidhar draws on his own experience of growing up in Israel and on the nation's turbulent history to tell an authentic story about creating your own identity' Jewish News

UK TRADE ORDERS
✆ +44 (0)1256 302 699
✉ orders@macmillan.co.uk

EXPORT ORDERS
✆ +44 (0)1256 302 890
✉ exportregion1@macmillan.com

headofzeus.com | @HoZ_Books | An Apollo Book