Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Fall
14 Apr 2022 * EBOOK * £4.99 * 9781838931773

Maarten Jansen, of St Albans police, unearths long-buried secrets in the new thriller from Rachael Blok.

Fiction / FH (Thrillers)
Extent: 400 pages
Exclusive: GB CA AU NZ IN ZA SG US
Under the Ice
The Scorched Earth
Into the Fire
Also by Rachael Blok
The Fall: The new twisty and haunting psychological thriller that's impossible to put downby Rachael Blok

'Twisty, suspenseful and deeply atmospheric.' Harriet Tyce
'An electrifying crime thriller.' Woman's Own

The bigger the sin, the further the fall...

With Easter approaching, the verger of St Albans Cathedral was supposed to be readying the church. Instead he discovers a man lying dead, fallen from the famous 150-foot-high tower. Did he jump, or was he pushed?

For DCI Maarten Jansen, it's a simple case of suspected suicide. Until a stranger, Willow, who witnessed the jump, prompts a deeper investigation into a decades-old mystery involving a psychiatric hospital, a pregnant woman, and long-buried family secrets...

The Fall is a powerful and twisty thriller about loss, trauma, silence, and how our past shapes who we are.

Praise for The Fall:

'Lyrical, assured and simmering with suspense.' Victoria Selman
'The Fall is a rare beast... Dark, atmospheric and truly original.' Kate Simants
'Uncoils like the snapping of a whip, lashing the past into the present with the revealing of dark family secrets.' Dominic Nolan
'Heart-pounding.' James Delargy

Rachael Blok grew up in Durham and studied Literature at Warwick University. She taught English at a London Comprehensive and is now a full-time writer living in Hertfordshire with her husband and children. Her thrillers Under the Ice, The Scorched Earth and Into the Fire have been widely acclaimed. Visit rachaelblok.com

Police procedural meets psychological thriller, for fans of Jane Harper and Gytha Lodge.

Set in St Albans at Easter, by a St Albans writer.

A favourite of the crime critics: featured in Sunday Times Crime Club picks and reviewed widely in broadsheet and tabloid press.

MARKET: Jane Harper; Gytha Lodge; Ruth Ware.


'Twisty, suspenseful and deeply atmospheric' Harriet Tyce

'From the atmospheric and chilling prologue, The Fall held me tight in its thrall until the spine-tingling conclusion' Sam Holland

'Held me spellbound right from the arresting opening through to the hugely satisfying ending, which I didn't see coming!' Polly Phillips

'A wonderfully woven thriller, that oozes class from every page' Robert Scragg

'The Fall is a rare beast... Dark, atmospheric and truly original. I absolutely tore through it' Kate Simants

'Lyrical, assured and simmering with suspense' Victoria Selman

'Rachael Blok is an exceptionally assured writer, and her crime fiction is as cool and restrained as its Dutch detective' Jo Furniss

'Intriguing right from the beginning and unwinds slowly and deliberately to a heart-pounding conclusion' James Delargy

'Captivating storytelling and a real page turner – kept me up reading into the small hours!' Fliss Chester

'Intricately plotted between past and present, this emotionally charged, atmospheric crime novel had me reading late into the night' Eleanor Ray

'This is a terrific mystery. Uncoils like the snapping of a whip, lashing the past into the present with the revealing of dark family secrets' Dominic Nolan

'The Fall held my attention unwaveringly. It's a punchy, exciting tale that is utterly gripping. Don't miss it' My Weekly

'Trauma and lies haunt the pages of this electrifying crime thriller' Woman's Own

'An engrossing thriller centred on the mysterious death of a man who falls from the roof of St Albans Cathedral' Choice Magazine

FOR MORE INFORMATION
✆ +44 (0) 20 7253 5557
✉ digitalsales@headofzeus.com

headofzeus.com | @HoZ_Books | An Aries Book