Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
Ben Okri's first children's book to be published by Head of Zeus this October
Every Leaf a Hallelujah

This October, Head of Zeus are delighted to be publishing Ben Okri’s first children’s book, Every Leaf a Hallelujah, an enchanting ecological tale set in Africa, with specially commissioned illustrations from the multi-talented Italian/Nigerian artist Diana Ejaita. 

Pre-publication the book will be featured in six consecutive one-page extracts in The Bookseller from the beginning of July and accompanied by a comprehensive publicity and marketing campaign.

Maggie McKernan acquired world rights for Every Leaf a Hallelujah for Head of Zeus from Georgina Capel,  at Georgina Capel Associates. It will be published in hardback and ebook on 14th October 2021 to coincide with the thirtieth anniversary of the publication of Okri’s Booker Prize-winning novel, The Famished Road. 

In Every Leaf a Hallelujah we meet a girl called Mangoshi. When the tribal elders ask Mangoshi to go into the forest to look for a special flower that will save her village, and her mum, she knows she has to go, even though she is just one little girl and the forest is big and dark and full of whispers. Soon Mangoshi realises that she must do more than find the flower and save her home. She must save the forest itself.

A fully illustrated book, Diana Ejaita’s stunning artwork combines contrasting areas of black and white with soft patterns and textures that create powerful and distinctive images, making Every Leaf a Hallelujah a book that will be cherished by children and adults around the world.

Ben Okri said:  ‘This is a novel for all children of nature.  With this story I wanted to foster a greater love of trees and an awareness of the rich role they play in our lives. They give us so much, quietly, like a constant benediction. The tale is meant to open our eyes and hearts to the abundant blessings of nature. Which is why the courage to protect our natural environment is central to this book. It is the courage the world needs.’

Diana Ejaita said, ‘I am very excited to have created the images for Ben Okri's new book. When I was contacted by his editor I jumped with joy. Ben is one of the first Nigerian writers I read. His work adds another dimension to our view of the world and images come naturally into my mind when I read him. The story of Every Leaf a Hallelujah touches me deeply and makes me long for a better future.’

Head of Zeus Chairman Anthony Cheetham said:, ‘I first met Ben on the night that he won the Booker Prize for his fabulous novel The Famished Road. 30 years later we now have the joy of publishing his latest fable. Every Leaf a Hallelujah is an enchanting story with an important message for the future of our planet. Ben has the gift of words; Diana Ejaita’s illustrations add the vibrant moods and colours of their shared Nigerian heritage. Together they have created a storybook for all readers aged from 8 to 80.’

Ben Okri has written novels, plays, essays, short stories and poems. He won the Booker Prize for his novel The Famished Road in 1991. He was born in Nigeria and lives in London. He speaks out whenever he can about oppression and injustice. His poem responding to the tragedy of the fire at Grenfell Tower, read on Channel 4 News, has had over 6 million views.

Diana Ejaita was born in Italy to an Italian mother and Nigerian father. She lives in Berlin but travels often to Africa. Her first solo show will take place this summer in Lagos. Her work has appeared in Vanity Fair, the Boston Globe and others. In 2020 she produced three covers for the New Yorker magazine.  

Hollow Earth Trilogy
The Book of Beasts
These Dark Wings
What the Raven Brings
The White Hare
A Jigsaw of Fire and Stars
The Snow Angel
A Kingdom Falls
Me Mam. Me Dad. Me
The Mystery of the Colour Thief
The Girl Who Thought Her Mother Was a Mermaid
Ten Nasty Little Toads
Snowflake, AZ
Mr Tiger, Betsy and the Blue Moon
Wolf Light
Girl 38: Finding a Friend
Mr Tiger, Betsy and the Sea Dragon
Girl. Boy. Sea.
Eight Princesses and a Magic Mirror
Invisible in a Bright Light
Mr Tiger, Betsy and the Golden Seahorse
Sofa Surfer
Dangerous Remedy
Viper's Daughter
The Key to Finding Jack
If I Can't Have You
The Time Traveller and the Tiger
The Tindims of Rubbish Island
The Tindims and the Turtle Tangle
The Key to Fear
Circus Maximus: Race to the Death
Skin Taker