Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
Monstrous Design
Monstrous Design by Kat Dunn
 Battalion of the Dead series, 2

With swashbuckling, super-fast paced action and own voices queer romance, The Battalion of the Dead return in a dazzling new adventure, set amid the opulence and squalor of 18th-century London and Paris.

1794, London: where luxury and squalor rub shoulders and men of science conspire to raise the dead and make monsters.

From the glamorous excesses of the Vauxhall Pleasure Gardens to the city's seedy underbelly, Camille continues her search for Olympe de l'Aubespine – the girl born of magic and mayhem.

But with half the battalion trapped in Paris and a new enemy lying in wait in London, time is running out. Camille must decide how much she's willing to risk. To get what you want, how far is too far?

Perfect for fans of Netflix's Shadow and Bone series.

Head of Zeus, a Zephyr book * Children’s Fiction
03 Feb 2022 * 480pp * £8.99 * 9781789543704
REVIEWS
'The action is swashbuckling, the characters believable and you will very quickly find yourself so immersed that you will be back in 1794, in the midst of the panic, the danger and the action, in the blink of an eye. Not only is there action but we have thrilling adventure and must be prepared for opulence and squalor too, this is a no-holes-barred read, gritty and exciting'
Armadillo Magazine
'The plot is tight and totally believable, the characters are strong ... This is YA at its best. I'm off to buy the first instalment of what's going to be a very popular series. Recommended'
Historical Novels Review
'Dunn is capable of creating a wonderful sense of tension and mystery ... My 15-year-old self would have loved it whole-heartedly'
ParSec
'The Battalion of the Dead series has everything you could want from an historical YA fantasy: adventure, opulence, lies, science, magic and a captivating band of rebellious characters at its heart'
CultureFly
'Dashing young heroines and a strong LGBTQ voice'
The British Fantasy Society
ALSO IN THE SERIES
Dangerous Remedy
Glorious Poison
Author
Kat Dunn
Kat Dunn
Kat Dunn grew up in London and has lived in Japan, Australia and France. She's written about mental health for Mind and the Guardian, and worked as a translator for Japanese television. Her fiction has been shortlisted for the Mslexia Novel Competition. She lives in London. Twitter: @KatAliceDunn Instagram: @katalicedunn
ALSO BY Kat Dunn
Dangerous Remedy
Glorious Poison
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE