Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
Darkness Falls
Darkness Falls by David Mark

Read the prequel to the Sunday Times bestseller Dark Winter, where DS Aector McAvoy's journey began...

A city united in grief.
A journalist ready to kill to keep his secrets.
A copper capable of darker deeds than murderers.
An unworldly detective fighting to save an innocent man.

Welcome to Hull

Newly appointed DS McAvoy is an outsider to his new force and must confront his darkest fears, while hunting a killer that nobody else believes in. In a landscape at once tender and brutal, McAvoy must tread the path between the darkness and the light, before facing an enemy who will brand him for life.

Reviewers on David Mark:

'Dark, compelling crime writing of the highest order' Daily Mail
'Brilliantly written – a cracking story' Richard Madeley, Richard and Judy Book Club
'Breathtaking' Peter May
'Truly exhilarating and inventive. Mark is a wonderfully descriptive writer' Peter James
'Exceptional... Mark is writing at the top of his game' Publishers Weekly starred review
'A master of the dark psychological thriller' Kirkus

Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book * Thrillers
19 Aug 2021 * 432pp * £4.99 * 9781800243996

'Mark is a wonderfully descriptive writer' Peter James.

'To call Mark's novels police procedurals is like calling the Mona Lisa a pretty painting. Beautifully crafted, filled with flashbacks, horror, angst, and chilling detail' Kirkus Reviews.

'Breathtaking' Peter May, on Cruel Mercy.

'Dark, compelling crime writing of the highest order' Daily Mail, on Darkness Falls.

'Brilliantly written – a cracking story'
 Richard Madeley, Richard and Judy Book Club, on Dark Winter
David Mark
David Mark
David Mark spent more than fifteen years as a journalist, including seven years as a crime reporter with the Yorkshire Post. His writing is heavily influenced by the court cases he covered: the defeatist and jaded police officers; the competent and incompetent investigators; the inertia of the justice system and the sheer raw grief of those touched by savagery and tragedy. He is also the author of the DS McAvoy series, and psychological suspense thrillers under the name D.L. Mark. Follow David on @davidmarkwriter
ALSO BY David Mark
Anatomy of a Heretic
Donovan Creed Foursome  5-8
Donovan Creed Foursome 1-4
Donovan Creed Omnibus 1-8
Donovan Creed Two Up 1-2
Donovan Creed Two Up 3-4
Donovan Creed Two Up 5-6
Donovan Creed Two Up 7-8
The Boatman
3 Great Thrillers
Daddy's Girl
Like Clockwork
Blood Rose
Gallows Hill
Three Jack McClure Missions - Box Set
The Ninja
The Miko
White Ninja
The Kaisho
Floating City
Second Skin
Company Man
Extraordinary Powers
High Crimes
Killer Instinct
The Moscow Club
The Zero Hour
The Cabinet of Curiosities
Still Life With Crows
The Ice Limit
Mount Dragon
The Drowned: A Short Story