Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Wartime Singers
The Wartime Singers Lesley Eames

'I have struggled to find words to describe this book. It was breath-taking' 5* Reader review

With war looming, can they lift the spirits of the troops?

It's 1914 and the effects of war are reaching London. Sick and injured servicemen are returning home and Lizzie Kellaway and her godmother Margaret Penrose are determined to do their bit to help them. With Lizzie's beautiful singing voice and Margaret's talent for the piano, concerts in hospitals and convalescent homes offer the perfect opportunity to lift the spirits of men who have suffered so much.

When Polly Meadows's fiancé rejects her and leaves for the war, she doesn't hesitate before travelling to London to be with her childhood friend, Lizzie. It isn't long before she's persuaded to join their efforts to entertain the troops. At least while performing Polly can forget her troubles and open her soul to the joy of singing.

But the ongoing war brings even more heartache. With all three women facing struggles, one thing is certain: these wartime singers will need each other more than ever before...

A heartwarming and gritty wartime saga, perfect for fans of Nancy Revell, Molly Green and Elaine Everest.

What readers are saying about The Wartime Singers:

'BRILLIANT' 5 * Reader review

'Loved it, especially the twist at the end!' 5* Reader review

'Gorgeously written with thoughtfulness, this story captured my heart. Historical Fiction, Women's Fiction and General Fiction lovers ought to pick up this winner of a book, both gentle and powerful' 5* Reader review

'The characters really came alive. I hated to put it down and go back to my daily life!' 4* Reader review

'Fantastic writing. I would recommend' 5* Reader review

'I never expected a historical fiction to have such an EPIC MEET-CUTE. It was so unique & sudden. I loved it ... I had so much fun! I almost want to break out into applause every time, courtesy of such succinct yet picturesque writing' 4* Reader review

'This book is a breath of fresh air' 5* Reader review

'I loved reading every single page of this heart-warming saga and five stars from me' 5* Reader review

'I so enjoyed reading every page, saga readers will get pulled into this book right to the end' 5* Reader review

'Such a beautiful and poignant tale. I have nothing but praise for this outstanding book and can highly recommend' 5* Reader review

Head of Zeus, an Aria book * Saga
14 Oct 2021 * 416pp * £8.99 * 9781800246218
Author
Lesley Eames
Lesley Eames
Born in Manchester but currently living in Hertfordshire, Lesley Eames' career has included law and charity fundraising. She is now devoting her time to her own writing and to teaching creative writing to others. In addition to selling almost 90 short stories to the women's magazine market, Lesley has won the Festival of Romance's New Talent Award and the Romantic Novelists' Associations Elizabeth Goudge Cup.
ALSO BY Lesley Eames
The Runaway Women in London
The Brighton Guest House Girls
The Orphan Twins
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE
Run to Him
A Girl Called Eilinora
Her Missing Husband: A Short Story
Jessie's Promise
The Wives' Revenge
Nobody's Girl
Lizzie's Daughters
Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts
A Dark And Distant Shore
The Four Streets
Ashes In The Wind
Zemindar
Hide Her Name
Jam and Roses
The Throwaway Children
The Ballymara Road
The Sisters of St Croix
The Runaway Family
Ruby Flynn
Gunner Girls and Fighter Boys
The Girl With No Name
The Angels of Lovely Lane
Lizzie's Secret
Lizzie's War
Bourbon Creams and Tattered Dreams
The Children of Lovely Lane
The Married Girls
The Mothers of Lovely Lane
The Big Wind
Christmas Angels
An Angel Sings
The Girls of Mulberry Lane
Hattie's Home
A Place to Call Home
A Wedding at Mulberry Lane
The Runaway Wife
The Lovely Lane Box Set
The Orphan Girl
The Candle Factory Girl
Miss Mary's Daughter