Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
Death and the Conjuror
Death and the Conjuror by Tom Mead

An enthralling locked-room murder mystery inspired by crime fiction of the Golden Age, Death and the Conjuror is the debut novel by acclaimed short-story writer Tom Mead.

1936, London. A celebrity psychiatrist is discovered dead in his locked study. There seems to be no way a killer could have escaped unseen. There are no clues, no witnesses, and no evidence of the murder weapon. Stumped by the confounding scene, Inspector Flint, the Scotland Yard detective on the case, calls on retired stage magician turned part-time sleuth Joseph Spector.

Spector has a knack for explaining the inexplicable, but even he finds that there is more to this mystery than meets the eye. As he and the Inspector interview the colourful cast of suspects, they uncover no shortage of dark secrets... or motives for murder. And when a second murder occurs, this time in an impenetrable elevator, they realize the crime wave will become even more deadly unless they can catch the culprit soon.

Reviews for Death and the Conjuror:

'An intricate "impossible" crime that completely fooled me.' Peter Lovesey
'A sharply drawn period piece with memorable characters.' New York Times
'Mead's debut is a novel to intrigue and delight.' John Connolly
'A true delight for mystery lovers!' Charles Todd
'Mead maintains suspense throughout, creating a creepy atmosphere en route to satisfying reveals.' Publishers Weekly
'A real treat for mystery fans.' Ragnar Jónasson

Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book * Crime Fiction
02 Feb 2023 * 288pp * £20 * 9781804540893
'Death and the Conjuror is an engrossing tale of murder and magicians, and a revealing exploration of the ever-popular locked-room mystery. Mead's debut is a novel to intrigue and delight'
John Connolly
'With a deviously intricate locked-room plot, Death and the Conjuror unfolds as both an elegant tribute and a cunning update of the classic 'impossible crime' story. Somewhere, the great John Dickson Carr is smiling'
Daniel Stashower
'Tom Mead has created an intriguing set of puzzles on par with John Dickson Carr in Death and the Conjuror. A true delight for mystery lovers!'
Charles Todd
'This ingenious (and fair-play) locked-room mystery should win over a new generation of readers to this delightfully devious style of classic mystery'
Gigi Pandian
'A sharply drawn period piece... Locked-room mysteries shine best with memorable characters, which is one of Mead's strengths'
New York Times
'Mead faithfully replicates all the loving artifice and teasing engagement of golden-age puzzlers in this superior pastiche'
Kirkus Reviews
'Mead maintains suspense throughout, creating a creepy atmosphere en route to satisfying reveals. Puzzle mystery fans will eagerly await the sequel'
Publishers Weekly
'The clever and complicated plots the unknown antagonist concocts will likely keep you guessing all the way through'
Crime Fiction Lover
Tom Mead
Tom Mead
Tom Mead's acclaimed short stories have appeared in Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine and Lighthouse among others. Several of his pieces have also been anthologized, including 'Heatwave' in The Best Mystery Stories of the Year 2021 (ed. Lee Child). He lives in Derbyshire, England. Death and the Conjuror is his debut novel. Follow Tom at
Danger in the Wind
Forsaken Soul
Chambers of Death
Valley of Dry Bones
Killing Season
Three for a Letter
Four for a Boy
Five for Silver
Six for Gold
Seven for a Secret
Eight for Eternity
Nine for the Devil
3 Great Historical Mysteries
The Sanctity of Hate
Covenant With Hell
Medieval Mystery - Box Set II
Medieval Mystery - Box Set I
Death in Roman Britain - Box Set
Death in Byzantium - Box Set
The Queen's Man - Box Set
A Rare Benedictine: The Advent Of Brother Cadfael
A Morbid Taste For Bones
One Corpse Too Many
Monk's Hood
Saint Peter's Fair
The Leper Of Saint Giles
The Virgin In The Ice
The Sanctuary Sparrow
The Devil's Novice
Dead Man's Ransom
The Pilgrim Of Hate
An Excellent Mystery
The Raven In The Foregate
The Rose Rent
The Hermit Of Eyton Forest
The Confession Of Brother Haluin
The Heretic's Apprentice
The Potter's Field
The Summer Of The Danes
The Holy Thief