Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
No Life for a Lady
No Life for a Lady by Hannah Dolby

The most joyful book of 2023!

Violet Hamilton is a woman who knows her own mind. Which, in 1896, can make things a little complicated...

At 28, Violet's father is beginning to worry she will never find a husband. But every suitor he presents, Violet finds a new and inventive means of rebuffing.

Because Violet does not want to marry. She wants to work, and make her own way in the world. But more than anything, she wants to find her mother Lily, who disappeared from Hastings Pier 10 years earlier.

Finding the missing is no job for a lady, but when Violet hires a seaside detective to help, she sets off a chain of events that will put more than just her reputation at risk.

Can Violet solve the mystery of Lily Hamilton's vanishing before it's too late?

A delightfully quirky and clever book club read, perfect for fans of Dear Mrs Bird, The Maid and Lessons in Chemistry.

Praise for No Life For a Lady:
'A GORGEOUS historical romcom with lashings of mystery... Joyful!' Sophie Irwin
'Charming, exhilarating, fabulously funny and so full of heart – Violet is the heroine I've been waiting for.' Daisy Buchanan
'So original and well written, I couldn't put it down... I can't remember rooting for a heroine as hard as I did for Violet.' Lucy Vine
'Delightful, original, cleverly crafted and completely addictive. Violet Hamilton is one of those characters who slips into your heart straight away and radiates joy. I loved it!' Hazel Prior

Head of Zeus, an Aria book * Historical Fiction
02 Mar 2023 * 400pp * £4.99 * 9781804544341
REVIEWS
'So original and well written, I couldn't put it down... I can't remember rooting for a heroine as hard as I did for Violet.'
Lucy Vine
'Charming, exhilarating, fabulously funny and so full of heart – Violet is the heroine I've been waiting for.'
Daisy Buchanan
Author
Hannah Dolby
Hannah Dolby
Hannah Dolby's first job was in the circus and she has aimed to keep life as interesting since. She trained as a journalist in Hastings and has worked in PR for many years, promoting museums, galleries, palaces, gardens and even Dolly the sheep. She completed the Curtis Brown selective three-month novel writing course, and she won runner-up in the Comedy Women in Print Awards for this novel with the prize of a place on an MA in Comedy Writing at the University of Falmouth. She currently lives in London. You can follow Hannah on Twitter @LadyDolby
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE
3 Great Historical Novels
Love & Inheritance - Box Set
The First Man in Rome
The Grass Crown
Fortune's Favourites
Caesar's Women
Caesar
Masters of Rome Collection Books I - V
The Song of Troy
Flora's Secret
Betrayal at Cleeve Abbey
The Four Streets Saga
A Knightsbridge Scandal
The Diney Costeloe Collection
Habits of the House
The Silver Thread
Long Live the King
Burnt Norton
The New Countess
Csardas
Zemindar
The Petticoat Men
The Ladies of Missalonghi
The Sisters of St Croix
The Runaway Family
The Nurses of St Croix
Faded Glory
Before the War
Cathar
The Man on a Donkey
Medici ~ Ascendancy
Game of Hearts
Warrior of Woden
Murder on the Minneapolis
Murder at Cleeve Abbey
Murder at The Grenadier
Murder at St Philomena's
The Witches of St. Petersburg
Smile of the Wolf
Wicked By Design