Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
Black Wolf
Black Wolf: A gripping post-Cold War spy thriller by Kathleen Kent

A dazzling new spy thriller about a female CIA agent whose extraordinary powers lead her into the dangerous heart of the collapsing Soviet Union – and the path of a killer that shouldn't exist.

Minsk, 1990. The Soviet Union is crumbling. The scavengers and predators are gathering, eager to pick the meat off the bones of a dying empire.

THE SPY: Melvina Donleavy is part of a US trade delegation... and on her first undercover mission with the CIA. Mel has a secret skill: she is a 'super recognizer', someone who never forgets a face. She is the CIA's early warning system, on watch for hostile agents trying to extract fissionable materials from the moribund USSR.

THE SERIAL KILLER: On the streets of Minsk, women are being strangled. Many more have disappeared. The Soviet Union is not a gentle place for women and too many men are capable of such violence, but the truth is worse: just one man is responsible. Worse still, the authorities will never admit to his existence – serial killers, after all, are a symptom of capitalist decadence. And now he has a new target...

THE SPY HUNTER: Chairman of the BSSR's KGB, recipient of the Hero of the Soviet Union medal, the Order of Lenin, the Medal for Valour, the Order of the Patriotic War and the Order of the Red Star. They say you never hear his footsteps until he's carrying your coffin. And now he has a new target...

The Cold War may be coming to a close, but Mel is in danger of being obliterated by its fallout. Whichever way she turns, the wolves are gathering.

Reviews for Black Wolf:

'Kathleen Kent slays it with Black Wolf, a propulsive page-turner chock full of juicy spy game goodies. Simply masterful.' Lisa Barr, New York Times bestselling author
'A razor-sharp, whip-smart, beautifully written thriller. Combines the plotting of Frederick Forsyth with the chills of Thomas Harris. Highly recommended.' Christopher Reich, New York Times bestselling author

Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book * Thrillers
16 Feb 2023 * 400pp * £7.99 * 9781804547861
REVIEWS
'Kathleen Kent slays it with her new thriller Black Wolf, a propulsive page-turner chock full of juicy spy game goodies: intrigue, serial murder, nuclear secrets, passion, and of course, survival of the fittest... Welcome to the high-stakes world of Melvina Donleavy – a riveting, rich, and relevant heroine destined to take the suspense book world by storm. Simply masterful'
Lisa Barr, New York Times bestselling author.
'Black Wolf is a riveting read. A razor-sharp, whip-smart, beautifully written thriller set in the chaotic days following the collapse of the Soviet Union, it combines the research and plotting of Frederick Forsyth with the gruesome chills of Thomas Harris. Part espionage tale, part serial killer mystery, Black Wolf is a wholly original page turner of the first order. Highly recommended'
Christopher Reich, New York Times bestselling author of Once a Thief
'A gritty depiction of the spy game during the dissolution of the Soviet Union. Perfect for fans of The Americans'
Alma Katsu
'Kent draws on her own experience working for the U.S. Department of Defense to create an utterly convincing espionage novel full of tradecraft. Readers will eagerly await Mel's further adventures'
Publishers Weekly
PRAISE FOR KATHLEEN KENT:

'Kent is an effective storyteller and an acute social observer' Los Angeles Review of Books.

'Kent does a fine job weaving the various plot strands into a satisfying and action-packed whole'
 Publishers Weekly
Author
Kathleen Kent
Kathleen Kent
Kathleen Kent is a New York Times bestselling author and a two-time Edgar Award Nominee. She has also written the award-winning historical novels The Heretic's Daughter, The Traitor's Wife, and The Outcasts, and been published in the crime anthology Dallas Noir. In March 2020 she was inducted into the Texas Institute of Letters for her contribution to Texas literature. Follow Kathleen on www.kathleenkent.com
ALSO BY Kathleen Kent
The Dime
The Burn
The Pledge
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE
Donovan Creed Foursome  5-8
Donovan Creed Foursome 1-4
Donovan Creed Omnibus 1-8
Donovan Creed Two Up 1-2
Donovan Creed Two Up 3-4
Donovan Creed Two Up 5-6
Donovan Creed Two Up 7-8
The Boatman
3 Great Thrillers
Daddy's Girl
Like Clockwork
Blood Rose
Gallows Hill
Three Jack McClure Missions - Box Set
The Ninja
The Miko
White Ninja
The Kaisho
Floating City
Second Skin
Company Man
Extraordinary Powers
High Crimes
Killer Instinct
The Moscow Club
The Zero Hour
Paranoia
Relic
Reliquary
The Cabinet of Curiosities
Still Life With Crows
Brimstone
Extraction
Thunderhead
The Ice Limit
Riptide
Mount Dragon
The Drowned: A Short Story
Missing
Accused